Chief Editor

Parastoo Souezi

Contact Parastoo Souezi
Book Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights, by Emily Brontë, was first published in the nineteenth century. This novel has been translated into various languages and remains a captivating and enjoyable work. The story revolves around the strange events in a house situated on a hill exposed to the winds. The characters in this tale have exceptional traits, constantly astonishing the reader with their behaviors.

Emily Jane Brontë, an English poet and novelist, was born on July 30, 1818, in a village in West Yorkshire. Her only novel, “Wuthering Heights,” a skillful blend of love and hatred, unfolds in the Yorkshire moors. The narrative not only portrays her character but also conceals the depths of her soul. This adaptation is a condensed version of the original book, specifically rewritten for children and adolescents. The Persian translation of the book, skillfully done by Shadi Ebrahimi, has been published by Gaj Publications.


Emily Brontë

Translator / Cover Artist

Shayesteh Ebrahimi / Rasool Ahmadi


International Gaj Publisher - Zanboor Publisher

During the latter part of 1801, a man named Lockwood leases Thrushcross Grange, a manor house situated in the desolate moorlands of England. The dour landlord, Heathcliff, resides in the ancient Wuthering Heights manor, four miles away. In this rugged and stormy landscape, Lockwood asks his housekeeper, Nelly Dean, to narrate the tale of Heathcliff and the peculiar inhabitants of Wuthering Heights. Nelly agrees, and Lockwood records her recollections in his diary, forming the primary content of Wuthering Heights.

Nelly recounts her early life as a servant at Wuthering Heights for the manor’s owner, Mr. Earnshaw, and his family. Mr. Earnshaw brings an orphan boy, Heathcliff, from Liverpool to be raised with his own children, Hindley and Catherine. Despite initial animosity, Catherine and Heathcliff become inseparable. After Mr. Earnshaw’s death, Hindley inherits Wuthering Heights and mistreats Heathcliff, who maintains a close bond with Catherine. Catherine, however, becomes entangled with Edgar Linton, leading Heathcliff to leave Wuthering Heights.

Upon his return, Heathcliff seeks revenge, gaining wealth and inheriting Wuthering Heights after Hindley’s demise. He also aims to inherit Thrushcross Grange by marrying Isabella Linton, whom he treats cruelly. Catherine becomes ill, gives birth, and dies. Heathcliff, desperate for her spirit to linger, undergoes further trials as Isabella flees to London with their son, Linton.

Thirteen years pass with Nelly serving as nursemaid to Catherine’s daughter, Cathy, at Thrushcross Grange. Cathy, unaware of Wuthering Heights, discovers it on the moors, meeting Hareton. Isabella dies, and Linton moves in with Heathcliff, who mistreats him. Cathy and Linton start a secret romance through letters, but Heathcliff manipulates Linton to secure legal claims on Thrushcross Grange.

Heathcliff lures Cathy and Nelly to Wuthering Heights, holding them captive until Cathy marries Linton. After Edgar’s death, Linton succumbs, leaving Heathcliff in control of both manors. He forces Cathy to serve at Wuthering Heights while renting Thrushcross Grange to Lockwood.

Nelly’s narrative concludes with Lockwood leaving in horror. However, six months later, he learns from Nelly of subsequent events. Cathy, initially disdainful of Hareton, grows to love him. Heathcliff becomes obsessed with the deceased Catherine, speaking to her ghost. After a night on the moors, Heathcliff dies. Hareton and Cathy inherit both estates, planning to marry. Lockwood visits Catherine and Heathcliff’s graves, concluding the tale.


Daddy Long Legs

Daddy-Long-Legs, a timeless classic by Joanne Hayle, unfolds the captivating story of Jerusha Abbott, a spirited orphan whose life takes an unexpected turn when a mysterious benefactor offers to sponsor her education. This heartwarming narrative, told through Jerusha's engaging
Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice

Discover the timeless tale of the March sisters - Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy. Louisa May Alcott's classic 'Little Women' unfolds a narrative of love, sisterhood, and personal growth. Dive into this cherished literary masterpiece now!
Little Women

Little Women

Discover the timeless tale of the March sisters - Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy. Louisa May Alcott's classic 'Little Women' unfolds a narrative of love, sisterhood, and personal growth. Dive into this cherished literary masterpiece now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *